Assess your standard with the French Language Test (TCF), rapid and official proof!
The TCF assesses your competence in French and places you on the scale of CEFR* levels. The result obtained in this test gives you a certificate of level valid for two years.

There are four types of TCF: the General TCF, TCF Québec, TCF DAP and TCF ANF. We organise several sessions each year.

TCF Québec

The TCF Québec is a test of linguistic standard in French, in line with the standards for the Ministry of Immigration, Diversity and Inclusion (MIDI) within the framework of an immigration application for Québec.

Who is it for?
This test is reserved for the exclusive use of candidates making an application in an immigration office or a General Delegation in Québec.

This test involves four examinations:

  • Oral comprehension examination: 25 minutes
  • Written comprehension examination: 45 minutes
  • Oral expression examination: 12 minutes
  • Written expression examination: 1 hour

More information on the TCF for Québec


The TCF for Access to French Nationality (TCF ANF) was specifically designed for people applying for French nationality, for any request for French nationality through marriage or naturalisation. It enables the exclusive assessment of oral comprehension and expression in French. The TCF ANF certifies a B1 language level, in compliance with the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR).

Who is it for?
For anyone wishing to apply for French nationality. You cannot use the TCF ANF to join a French university or to apply for immigration to Québec, for example.

The TCF ANF includes 2 mandatory examinations: oral comprehension (25 minutes) and oral expression (12 minutes).

More information on the TCF ANF
More information on obtaining French nationality

General TCF

The General TCF allows the assessment of your standard of oral and written expression. The questions follow the principle of gradually increasing difficulty.

Who is it for?
For anyone wishing to assess their competence in French for personal, academic or professional purposes.

The full General TCF (mandatory + additional examinations) is required by most French universities to accept applications by foreign students in their various study departments (faculties). Please contact your university for information on its requirements before enrolling.

Mandatory examinations
Mandatory examinations last 1 hour 25 minutes and include 76 multiple choice questions, assessing your oral comprehension, your command of the language structure and your written comprehension.

Additional examinations
The additional examinations assess your standard of written and oral expression. The oral expression examination lasts 12 minutes and the written expression examination lasts 1 hour.

More information on the General TCF


The TCF for Preliminary Admission Application (TCF DAP) is for anyone having applied for preliminary admission to French Universities.

Who is it for?
For any person who does not hold a DELF B2 or a DALF, wishing to register for the first cycle of university (licence 1 or licence 2) in France or in a French architectural school.

Please note:
We only accept candidates who have already submitted a “Preliminary Admission Application” with the French Embassy in Belgium. To request this, please go to the website of the French Embassy in Belgium.

The TCF DAP lasts 3 hours and includes 2 examinations:

  • an assessment of the standard of oral comprehension, grammar/vocabulary and written comprehension (1 hour 30 minutes)
  • an assessment of written expression skills with two exercises: a data commentary of at least 200 words and an argument of at least 300 words (1 hour 30 minutes)

More information on the TCF DAP

Calendar 2017

One date is fixed for the TCF DAP candidates: 9 February 2017.
The candidates for the General TCF, TCF Québec and TCF ANF can choose among the dates indicated below.

Session Date of exam Deadling for enrolment
January 17 January 12 January
19 January
February 7 February 1 February
9 February
March 15 March 8 March
17 March
April 11 April 27 March
13 April
18 April 31 March
20 April
May 30 May 23 May
June 28 June FULL
29 June
July 18 July FULL
20 July
August 22 August 28 July
24 August
September 18 September 11 September
19 September
October 17 October 10 October
19 October
November 14 November 7 November
16 November
December 19 December 12 December
21 December

The written examination will be on computer. If you are not able to do it on computer, please mention it to us when enrolling. A solution can be found.

The individual oral examination will take place the same day as the collective written examination: if you do the written exam on the morning, the oral one will take place on the afternoon - and vice versa.

The results will be communicated two weeks after the exam, at the latest.


TCF Québec: €195
TCF ANF: €135
General  TCF: €195
TCF DAP: €165


Do not delay, there is a limited number of places per session!

Option 1 | Enrol online

You can enrol through our online enrolment platform. Please note that some dates are not available online. If you wish to enrol for one of those dates, please contact us by email (option 2) or come and visit us (option 3).

Option 2 | Enrol by email

To enrol for the TCF of your choice, please contact us by email at the address: examens(at) and send us the completed enrolment form.

Option 3 | Enrol at reception

You can also enrol directly at the reception of the Alliance Française Bruxelles-Europe. Remember to bring an identity document (identity card or passport).

General Sales Conditions for the TCF

Your enrolment is deemed to be your acceptance of our general sales conditions which you are invited to consult.

Prepare for the TCF!

The Centre international d’études pédagogiques - International Centre for Teaching Studies (CIEP) website offers a range of tools to familiarise yourself with the TCF and prepare yourself for the day of the test. More information

* Common European Framework of Reference for Languages, this provides a common base for the design of programmes, diplomas and certificates. Three levels are defined: elementary (A1-A2), independent (B1-B2) and experienced (C1-C2).