Entrance examination

How can I prepare for the written paper for the entrance examination?
To prepare, we advise you to revise grammar and spelling to reach the best possible level of written French. We recommend the Grevisse and Sorbonne grammar texts and spelling summaries, for example. Regularly monitoring the news is also recommended. To help you prepare for the examination, you can consult an example of the written examination for the entrance examination: annals 2015 and annexes 2015.

To be accepted on the course do I need to sit a competition or an examination requiring a mark over 10 or 12/20?
Entrance to the course is via a competition for the limited number of places. A minimum mark of 60 % is required for the entrance examination. Only the 22 best candidates will be selected at the end of the oral admission examination.

What are the assessment criteria for the written examination?
The assessment criteria for the summary and argumentative text are those of the DALF. You will find the written production grids for the DALF C1 on pages 18-19 of this document you can download here.

How long are the results of this entrance examination valid? Can I sit the entrance examination more than once?
The results of the entrance examination are valid for 2 years and you can sit the examination once each academic year.


If the DPAFB recognised by the French community in Belgium?
No, but it is a recognised diploma in Alliances françaises, private language institutes and language schools in Belgium. There is a convention with the Université Catholique de Louvain (UCL) which enables validation, after teacher training, of the skills acquired in a Masters in FFL, for certain subjects, following examination of your application by a panel. This convention does not dispense with the requirement to follow the enrolment procedures for a Masters in FFL with the UCL.
The Masters at UCL concerned are the Masters in French and Roman Languages and Literature (general orientation, for teaching purposes or FFL orientation, specialist purposes) and the Masters in Modern Languages and Literature (general orientation, for the purpose of specialising in FFL-ROGE). The FFL Masters at UCL will allow you to teach in the public system. Each year, a certain number of Teacher Training graduates follow this path.

What are the differences between the DAEFLE diploma awarded by the CNED and the DPAFB awarded by the Alliance française de Bruxelles-Europe? Are the future outlets the same?
Teacher training with the Alliance française de Bruxelles-Europe is a face-to-face practical course which gives you the opportunity to go into a real FFL class, in everyday working conditions.
Preparation for the DAEFLE (Diploma of Aptitude to Teach French as a Foreign Language) awarded by the CNED is a theoretical distance-learning course. We are a centre for sitting the entrance test and for the final examination.
For additional information on this course: http://www.cned.fr/inscription/8FLEDDIX and http://www.alliancefr.org/enseignants-fle/formations/daefle.

Can I combine this course with my working life?
Yes. Lessons take place in the evening from Monday to Thursday. Three intensive weeks of lessons take place during the academic year (one in November, one in January and one in April). Please consult the course calendar for the dates. Teacher training courses involve personal work outside of lessons. Work to be handed in is announced long in advance to enable you to organise yourself.

Can I obtain a dispensation for certain lessons?
No, you must attend lessons to obtain the DPAFB.

A question?

FAQ has not answered all of your questions? You would like more information? Do not hesitate to contact Messaline Cartella, administrative assistant of the Professorat at the Alliance française de Bruxelles-Europe.
Tel.: +32 (0) 2 788 21 54
Email: professorat(at)alliancefr.be

Foire aux questions


Concours

Comment puis-je me préparer à l’épreuve écrite du concours d’admission ?
Afin de vous préparer au mieux, nous vous conseillons de réviser la grammaire et l’orthographe pour atteindre la meilleure maîtrise possible du français écrit. Nous vous recommandons de consulter les grammaires de Grevisse et de la Sorbonne et des précis de l’orthographe par exemple. Un suivi régulier de l’actualité est également conseillé. Pour vous aider à préparer l’épreuve, vous pouvez consulter un exemple de sujet de l’épreuve écrite du concours d’accès : annales 2015 et annexes 2015.

Pour accéder à la formation, s’agit-il d’un concours ou d’une épreuve requérant la moyenne ou 12/20 ?
L’accès à la formation s’effectue par un concours avec un nombre de places limitées. Une note minimale de 60 % est requise pour accéder à l’épreuve d’admission. Seules les 22 meilleures candidatures seront sélectionnées à l’issue de l’épreuve orale d’admission.

Quels sont les critères d’évaluation de l’examen écrit ?
Les critères d’évaluation de la synthèse et du texte argumentatif sont ceux du DALF. Vous trouverez les grilles de la production écrite du DALF C1 à la page 18-19 de ce document à télécharger ici.

Combien de temps sont valables les résultats au concours d'admission ? Puis-je passer le concours plusieurs fois ?
Les résultats du concours d’admission sont valables deux ans et vous pouvez le passer une fois par année académique.

Formation

Le DPAFB est-il reconnu par la Communauté française de Belgique ?
Non, mais il s’agit d’un diplôme réputé auprès des Alliances françaises et auprès des instituts privés de langue et des écoles de langue en Belgique. Il existe une convention avec l’Université Catholique de Louvain (UCL) qui permet, suite à la formation du Professorat, d’obtenir une validation d’acquis en Master de FLE, pour certaines matières, après examen de votre dossier par un jury. Cette convention ne vous dispense pas de suivre la procédure d’inscription en Master de FLE auprès de l’UCL.
Les Masters concernés à l’UCL sont le Master en langues et littératures françaises et romanes (orientation générale, finalité didactique ou orientation FLE, finalité spécialisée) et le Master en langues et littératures modernes (orientation générale, finalité spécialisée en FLE-ROGE). Les Masters de FLE de l’UCL vous permettront d’enseigner dans le public. Chaque année, certains des diplômés du Professorat continuent ainsi.

Quelles sont les différences entre le diplôme DAEFLE délivré par le CNED et le DPAFB délivré par l’Alliance française de Bruxelles-Europe ? Les débouchés sont-ils les mêmes ?
La formation du Professorat de l’Alliance française de Bruxelles-Europe est une formation pratique en présentiel qui vous donne la possibilité d’aller dans une vraie classe FLE, dans des conditions réelles.
La préparation au DAEFLE (Diplôme d’Aptitude à l’Enseignement du Français Langue Etrangère) délivrée par le CNED est une formation théorique à distance. Nous sommes centre de passation pour le test d’accès et pour l’examen final.
Pour toute information complémentaire sur cette formation :  http://www.cned.fr/inscription/8FLEDDIX et  http://www.alliancefr.org/enseignants-fle/formations/daefle.

Puis-je combiner formation et activité professionnelle ?
Oui. Les cours ont lieu en soirée du lundi au jeudi. Trois semaines intensives de cours ont lieu durant l’année académique (une en novembre, une en janvier et une en avril). Veuillez vous référer au calendrier de formation pour connaître les dates. La formation du Professorat implique un travail personnel en dehors des cours. Les travaux à rendre seront annoncés longtemps à l’avance afin que vous puissiez vous organiser.

Puis-je obtenir une dispense pour certains cours ?
Non, vous devez assister aux cours pour obtenir le DPAFB.

Une question ?

La Foire aux questions (FAQ) n’a pas répondu à toutes vos interrogations ? Vous aimeriez avoir plus de renseignements ?
N’hésitez pas à contacter Messaline Cartella, assistante administrative du Professorat de l’Alliance française de Bruxelles-Europe.
Tél. : +32 (0) 2 788 21 54
Courriel : professorat(at)alliancefr.be